6th Parachute Brigade (TA)

6th Parachute Brigade (TA)

1947 to 1956

The 6th Parachute Brigade (Territorial) was formed in 1947 as one of three TA parachute brigades under the command of 16th Airborne Division TA, the others being 4th and 5th Parachute Brigades (Territorial).

The brigade's headquarters were located in Liverpool and its constituent units were:
13th Battalion (TA)
15th Battalion (TA)
16th Battalion (TA)

In 1950 the brigade was renumbered as 46th Parachute Brigade TA.

In 1956, reductions in the number of TA PARA Battalions resulted in the disbandment of 16th Airborne Division TA together with 45th Parachute Brigade (TA), 46th Parachute Brigade (TA)  and 16th Battalion (Welsh) (TA).

The remaining TA PARA Battalions, including 13th and 15th Battalions (TA), transferred to a reconstituted 44th Independent Parachute Brigade Group (TA), although the 13th Battalion merged shortly after with the 12th, to form 12/13th Battalion, The Parachute Regiment (TA), in October 1956.

Brigade Commanders

1947-49 Brigadier GPL Weston DSO
1949-51 Brigadier P Hopkinson
1952-54 Brigadier FP Barclay DSO MC
1954-56 Brigadier VW Street DSO MC

Compiled with the assistance of John Muir

Read More

Pegasus extracts_4


Group photos_1

Latest Comments

There are currently no comments for this content.

Add your comment


Make a donation to Airborne Assault ParaData to help preserve the history of The Parachute Regiment and Airborne Forces