List of 2 PARA Commanding Officers since 1948

For details of commanding officers of the 2nd Parachute Battalion please click here.

1948 Lt Col PS Sandilands, DSO
1948-52 Lt Col GW White, MBE
1952-55 Lt Col HB Coxen, DSO, MC
1955 Lt Col RCC Langrishe
1956-58 Lt Col HEN Bredin, DSO, MC
1958-60 Lt Col DA Beckett, DSO, OBE
1960-62 Lt Col FD King, MBE
1962-64 Lt Col NF Gordon-Wilson, MBE
1964-66 Lt Col CE Eberhardie, MBE, MC
1966-68 Lt Col JMH Roberts, OBE
1968-71 Lt Col RW Dawnay, OBE
1971-73 Lt Col GHW Howlett, OBE, MC
1973-75 Lt Col CJ Bowden, MBE
1975-78 Lt Col DWF Taylor
1978-81 Lt Col CG Thomson, OBE
1981-82 Lt Col H Jones VC, OBE
1982 Major CPB Keeble DSO (Temp Command)
1982-84 Lt Col DR Chaundler, OBE
1984-87 Lt Col D Parker
1987-89 Lt Col PE Dennison, MBE
1989-92 Lt Col CF Hicks, OBE
1992-94 Lt Col AR Freer
1994-97 Lt Col DG Benest, MBE
1997-99 Lt Col JD Shaw
1999-2001 Lt Col C Chapman
2001-2004 Lt Col J Bashall, OBE
2004-2006 Lt Col JR Chiswell, MC
2006-2009 Lt Col JSS O’Sullivan
2009-2011 Lt Col A Harrison
2011-2013 Lt Col A Dawson MC
2013-2016 Lt Col O Kingsbury MBE
2016 Lt Col D Mann
2020 Lt Col M Taylor




Read More


Make a donation to Airborne Assault ParaData to help preserve the history of The Parachute Regiment and Airborne Forces